PRIO Board

Trine Skei Grande


Elisabeth Heggelund Tørstad

Deputy Chair

Tuomas Forsberg
Kari Steen-Johnsen
Ragnhild Hennum
Damian Laws
Georgina Berry

Deputy Members

  • Kai Eide
  • Stein Hernes
  • Magnus Öberg
  • Audun Fladmoe
  • Arnfinn Haagensen Midtbøen
  • Kristoffer Lidén
  • Øystein H. Rolandsen

Ex Officio Members

  • Henrik Urdal (Director)
  • Torunn L. Tryggestad (Deputy Director)
  • Lene Kristin Borg (Administrative Director)
  • Lars Even Andersen (Deputy Administrative Director)

Board Member Bios

Trine Skei Grande (Chair)

Trine Skei Grande has a background as a politician, representing the Liberal Party in Norwegian Parliament since 2001. She stepped down in 2020 after ten years as party chair and leader of the party parliamentary group, but maintained her seat in parliament until the 2021 election. She was a member of the Parliamentary Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence, the Committee on Education and Research, and has served as both Minister of Culture and Gender Equality and Minister of Education. She is currently an adviser with Footprint.

Elisabeth Heggelund Tørstad (Deputy Chair)

Elisabeth Tørstad is CEO of Asplan Viak, coming from the role of CEO for DNV GL Digital Solutions. Elisabeth has held various international leadership positions in sectors such as maritime, oil and gas, renewable energy and the construction industry. She is a graduate of MSc in Physics at the University of Oslo and has also been educated as a construction engineer and business economist.

Tuomas Forsberg

Tuomas Forsberg is Director of the Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies, and Professor of International Relations at the University of Tampere. He has worked as the acting director and senior research fellow of the Finnish Institute of International Affairs.

Kari Steen-Johnsen

Kari Steen-Johnsen is Research Director for politics, democracy, civil society at the Institute for Social Research. She completed her master’s degree in sociology at the University of Oslo, and her PhD at the Norwegian School of Sport Sciences.

Ragnhild Helene Hennum

Ragnhild Hennum is Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Oslo. She holds a doctorate and an LLM from the University of Oslo. Before being elected Dean, Hennum was Director of the Norwegian Centre for Human Rights. She has also previously served as the University of Oslo’s acting Pro-Rector and Vice-Rector, and as President of the Norwegian Women’s Lobby.

Damian Laws

Damian Laws is employee representative on the PRIO Board, His position at PRIO is Department Manager and Management Adviser.

Georgina Berry

Georgina Berry is employee representative on the PRIO Board. Her position at PRIO is Publications Editor.

Deputy Board Member Bios

Kai Eide

Kai Eide is a retired diplomat and politician. He has been the United Nations Special Representative to Afghanistan and to Bosnia-Herzegovina. He has been a member of the Norwegian Foreign Service since 1975 and has served as Norway’s Ambassador to the OSCE, NATO and Sweden.

Stein Hernes

Stein Hernes is Vice President Political and Public Affairs in Equinor. He has experience from NATO, Statkraft, Ministry of Petroleum & Energy, Norwegian Parliament and the Office of the Prime Minister of Norway.

Magnus Öberg

Magnus Öberg is a Senior Lecturer at the Department of Peace and Conflict Research at Uppsala University and Director of the Uppsala Conflict Data Program.

Audun Fladmoe

Audun Fladmoe is a Senior Researcher at the Institute for Social Research.

Arnfinn Haagensen Midtbøen

Arnfinn Haagensen Midtbøen is Professor at the Department of Sociology and Human Geography at the University of Oslo. His research centers on immigration, integration and ethnic inequality.

Kristoffer Lidén

Kristoffer Lidén is Senior Researcher at PRIO and the Norwegian Centre for Humanitarian Studies. He holds a PhD in Philosophy.

Øystein H. Rolandsen

Øystein H. Rolandsen is Research Professor and co-director of the PRIO Centre for Culture and Violent Conflict. He holds a PhD in History.

An error has occurred. This application may no longer respond until reloaded. Reload 🗙