Scott Gates, research professor at PRIO and professor of political science at NTNU, became a member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters (Det Norske Videnskaps-Akademi) 3 May. Among the existing members are PRIO’s founder Johan Galtung, Nils Petter Gleditsch, and four former working group leaders at PRIO’s Centre for the Study of Civil War (Jon Elster, Ola Listhaug, Karl Ove Moene, and Kaare Strøm), as well as several former PRIOites. Scott has been a member of the Trondheim-based Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters (Det Kongelige Norske Videnskabers Selskab) since 2008.

Read more here (in Norwegian).