Inspire Art Award . Illustration: NITJA/PRIO
Inspire Art Award . Illustration: NITJA/PRIO

The INSPIRE Art Award is an initiative of Inspirational Creative Practice: The Work of Artists after War and Violent Conflict (INSPIRE). INSPIRE is a research project that studies the role of artists and creative practice in and after violent conflict. The project is hosted by the Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO) and connected to the PRIO Centre on culture and violent conflict (CCC).

This global Award was open to artists who were invited to apply on an open call basis. The INSPIRE Art Award offers nominated artists a showing of their work at NITJA, Centre for Contemporary Art the between 20 April and 2 June.

The lead artist for the project is Simone Fattal who has consigned a work to the fundraising campaign.

The INSPIRE Art Award is very grateful to partner with Nitja Centre for Contemporary Art, Goethe Institut, the Peacebuilding and the Arts Program (Brandeis University), Residency Unlimited and Thanks for Nothing. Nitja, located near Oslo in Lillestrøm, will host the INSPIRE Art Award Ceremony and the Group Presentation in spring 2024. Residency Unlimited will host the winner artist and is waving their program fee.

Shortlisted Artists for 1st Edition of the INSPIRE Art Award

Close to 100 applications from talented artists around the world were received representing 35 countries, showing how many people and places are affected by war, displacement and political violence. The jury considered all applications carefully and after extensive deliberations, are honoured to present the five nominees.

PRIO and the INSPIRE Project are proud to present the five nominees for the 1st edition of the INSPIRE Art Award:

Zahrasadet Hakim, visual artist from Iran/Iraq (based in Switzerland)

Daria Pugachova, performance artist Ukraine (based in Ukraine)

Gervais Tomadiatunga, dancer from DRC (based in France)

Zun May Oo, visual artist from Myanmar (based in Thailand)

Eyoeal Kefyalew, photographer from Ethiopia (based in Ethiopia)


14:00 Welcome - Kathrine Wilson, Director of Nitja 14:05 Introduction to Inspire Art Award - Katarzyna Grabska, Research Professor at PRIO, INSPIRE project leader 14:10 Opening remarks - Henrik Urdal, Director of PRIO 14:20 Price ceremony and congratulations to the artists - Akram Khan, on behalf of the INSPIRE Art Award Jury 15:15 Dance performance - Gervais Tomadiatunga

Entry is free on the opening day.

*Partners of the INSPIRE Art Award 2024*